Day 16 & 17: Pot O Sauce

I’ve had mostly leftovers since Sunday, but I cooked up a big pot o spaghetti sauce today. I make what is pretty much my family’s recipe and dump it over some roast spaghetti squash. I don’t feel like talking about what I ate for the last two days, so here’s a recipe for spaghetti sauce instead (more or less. . .remember, I don’t really believe in measurements):

1lb ground meat (I used turkey this time, but bison is probably my favorite)
1/2 – 1 onion, chopped
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
1-2 packages of mushrooms (I used organic baby bellas)

2-3 tbsp tomato paste
1 15oz can tomato sauce
1 28oz can fire roasted tomatoes
1-2 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp rosemary
1-2 tsp basil (fresh is best)
1-2 tsp red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste

Brown the meat with the onion and garlic and some salt and pepper. Just as you finish, mix in the tomato paste. Sautee the mushrooms in some coconut oil or ghee, then toss everything in a crock pot and cook on low all day. If you use fresh basil, wait until before you use the sauce to stir it in. Roast up a spaghetti squash. 350 degrees or so – just poke holes in it and put the whole dang thing in the oven. When a fork goes into the squash very easily, it’s done. When the squash starts to cool off, cut it in half and scoop out the seeds. Then scoop out the cooked “spaghetti” and plop on your sauce. DELISH.

Leave a Reply

