Day 11: Your Mom Does Turkish Getups

All of this running around on top of a paleo challenge kinda has me tuckered out. Maybe that’s why I’ve got a cold. I’ve been awfully wheezy today, and that doesn’t help. Although I’m cooking this weekend, I plan on not leaving my apartment, taking naps, and sleeping in on Sunday in order to give myself a break.

Today started with a 6AM workout and ended cooking, cleaning, and prepping my food for tomorrow. It will be worth it when I get back from Olympic lifting tomorrow and there is a crock pot chock full of delicious ribs to mow down on. But that’s tomorrow. Here’s what happened today.

Breakfast
I grabbed a Larabar real quick on my way to CFFW this morning. Once I got to my desk, I had sammies with turkey, home made pickled asparagus and home made mayo with some curtido from Fermenti. I spiked my coffee and later a cup of coconut tea with some coconut milk. Everything tastes sweeter when you’re trying to avoid added sugar, and canned coconut milk is like a little treat in my hot morning beverages, which I needed this morning because of the whole cold thing.

Lunch
I ran to Fresh Market and got some seaweed salad with raw tuna and decided I also needed a snacky. Some tiny zucchini caught my eye, and I thought they might be good raw with some salsa. I was right! I also got some unfortunately delicious and addictive freeze dried strawberries and bananas. Crunchy love in my face.

Dinner
I needed a nap by the time I got home, so I laid down for 30 minutes before I started dinner. I made bison burgers with bacon, home made mayo, and hot sauce, roast broccolini (kind of like really long broccoli) with balsamic, shiitakes sauteed with garlic in ghee, and some glorious ripe plaintains fried in ghee. Holy schnikies was it good.

Dinner is Served

Dinner is Served

Today’s WOD looked like this:
A.
3 sets:
Superman hold for 30-45 sec.
Rest 60 sec.
Turkish Get-Ups, 3 reps/arm
Rest 60 sec.
25lb kb

B.
EMOM for 15 min:
10 KBS
5 Burpees (jump laterally over your KB)
25lb kb, completed 13 rounds

EMOM, for the uninitiated, means every minute on the minute. Always a good time. Just like your mom. I’m always stoked to have a kettlebell in my hand, so I was happy to work hard this morning with some getups and swings. I also got my eight hours of sleep and my fish oil, so I’m set to earn my challenge points for the day.

Leave a Reply

