Day 23: Gut Cramp City

I’ve taken a break from cooking for the past couple of days, and today I managed to enjoy my very first meal out since before Christmas. For breakfast I had some tuna salad on a bell pepper, some snap peas, and an apple. I got my ass up out of my office for lunch and went to, of all places, Chipotle. I got a salad with carnitas, pico salsa, guac, and lime. It tasted pretty good, and it was definitely nice not to have to cook or clean anything, but I am beginning to prefer my own cooking over restaurant food, and very quickly becoming a food snob.

Something is making my guts cramp up, and I haven’t figured out what it is yet, although I suspect nuts. Today it happened after I ate a banana Larabar before trying to get in an asthanga practice. Almost immediately, my guts, from my stomach down to my small intestines, started cramping up. This has happened three or four times now since I started eating on the Whole 30 plan. I laid down on the couch for 30 minutes, but the cramps lasted for about two hours. There was no way I was going spin myself upside down or practice twisting poses during Ultimate Gut Fury 2013, so I took the opportunity to do a little online shopping as I moaned.

I drank a ginger kombucha and started to feel better. Once UGF was over, I had a weird burst of energy, so I went ahead and whipped up a feast! Both dinner for tonight and lunch for the next to days. Dinner was bison patties with curtido (Salvadorian fermented cabbage salad) from Fermenti in Indianapolis and avocado, cocoa toasted cauliflower, roasted broccoli and Brussels sprouts with balsamic, and shitakes sauteed in ghee and shallots.

DSCN5742

Holy Dinner, Batman!

I also baked a piece of salmon for my next two lunches, AND I did all the dishes. Productivity now! Actually, bed now. And tomorrow, no gut cramps, damnit.

Leave a Reply

