Days 21 and 22: I Never Said It Would Be Easy. . . I Said It Would Be Not Easy

I’ve been eating on the plan for 27 days now, and honestly, I’m burnt out. Working full time, cooking, cleaning up, and working out have really taken a toll on me. I don’t feel that crazy Whole 30 energy at all. Maybe I’m not getting enough sleep. Maybe I’m not digesting my food well enough.  All I know is that I’m tired of cooking three meals a day every day, and I’m way too excited about the fact that I’m going to try eating at Chipotle tomorrow.

I’ve been eating leftovers and salads for the past two days. Yesterday I had hard boiled eggs with spicy mayo and sauerkraut for breakfast, roast chicken, Turkish chopped salad, and a sweet potato with coconut butter for lunch, and halupki stir fry for dinner. Today I had roast chicken and sweet potato with coconut butter for breakfast, a salad for lunch, and roast chicken, sauerkraut, and sweet potato for dinner. I’d love to mention the salad greens I’ve been eating lately, but I can’t seem to find any info on them on the innernets. It’s called zen mix and has baby spinach, kale, and chard, so you can use it for salad or toss it in a pan to saute (or slap them in some eggs!). They’re a little heartier than the mixed baby greens I had been eating, so they don’t get all soggy if I don’t eat them right away, and I like that they serve a dual purpose. Plus, all that dark leafy green stuff is good for me.

Speaking of good, I certainly wish I could say I felt awesomely good, but I don’t. I feel alright. My skin seems to be a little clearer, but nothing miraculous. I sleep pretty sound, but I’m still hitting the snooze button in the morning. My waistline is noticeably smaller, and although it’s cheating, I happen to know that I have lost some weight. Even if that wasn’t the case, I don’t feel that this experiment has been a waste. It’s really made me think about what I’m putting in my body, and I have a feeling that the reintroduction portion of this deal (t-minus 8 days!)  is going to make me think even harder. I wasn’t expecting a miracle. And although I’ve read plenty of information about people feeling like jet propelled angels high on Whole 30 goodness, I never read anywhere that this process would be easy. So I’m taking it one step at a time, and my next step is to be in bed by 9 PM. Winning!

Leave a Reply

