Day 9: Steak Night!

I was going to go to yoga tonight, but decided I had entirely too much to do. Good thing, too, because by the time I was done cleaning up my apartment, making dinner, doing dishes, prepping all meals for tomorrow, and doing dishes again, it is now 9 PM. But I’ve got a big crock pot full of ribs ready for yetiman to turn on tomorrow morning and I’m looking forward to that meal.

On to today. I neglected to take a picture of my mostly leftover breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was some guacamole, hard boiled eggs, bell pepper and snap peas. The guac smelled a little off, so I ended up squirting the eggs with some home made mayo with cayenne and shallot instead. Lunch was leftover bison patties, with mayo and pickled asparagus and a sweet potato. I also ate a yummy  heirloom apple from the 3 Rivers Natural Grocery. I don’t remember what it was called, but the co-op has quite the variety of heirloom apples and they are all interesting and tasty.

For dinner, I tried my hand at faking someone else’s recipe. My lovely friend Louly is Thai/Laotian, and I love eating her family’s food. She makes this steak salad with lots of spicy Thai peppers that is absolutely magnificent. My version tasted pretty close, and was spicy-delicious. I marinated a couple of flank steaks in coconut aminos. Yetiman determined that we must sear the steaks then let them rest, so I let him do just that. I think they cooked for about five minutes on each side, then rested for about 10. He cut the steak as thin as he could (it was kind of chewy), and I threw it in a bowl with fresh cilantro, chopped Thai chili peppers, red onion, fish sauce, and lots of fresh squeezed lime juice.

DSCN5710

DInner: It’s What’s for Dinner

I paired the steak salad with stir-fried shiitake and broccoli slaw from nom nom paleo (minus the sardines). I’ve got a nom nom paleo shirt coming in the mail and I can’t wait to show off my new paleo duds. It’s got a girl deadlifting whilst thinking about steak and bacon on it. Just like me! Dinner was great, and I’ll be trying the steak salad again soon with some bison steaks. And now I’ll talk about my Whole 30 experience as I end day 14 eating on the plan.

I feel like I’m about a week behind on the way I’ve read I should feel by now. Although I do have sustained energy throughout the day, and I don’t hit the 2 PM slump that I used to every day, I still don’t have all the crazy energy people talk about. I did feel reasonably good for the first 200 meters or so of our 400 meter warm up run at CrossFit on Tuesday. Until I started sucking the 25 degree cold air, anyway; then I felt like my janky asthmatic lungs were going to explode. I also find myself waking up frequently at night unless I’ve taken my benedryl (for allergies). Last night was the first night that I slept really solid, so maybe I am just behind, but on my way. I do see a difference in my skin, but I would not say it is clear. I haven’t had clear skin since I was like 11, so I wasn’t counting on a miracle or anything, but I still have a patch of eczema on my left arm that I thought for sure would clear up once I started eating clean. It’s hard to say if my asthma is improving because yetiman came home from tour with his band sick, so I’m assuming the general stuffiness and occasional wheeze I’ve had this week is from smooching his stupid, germy, handsome face.

And there you go, all the news that nobody ever wanted to know. Somebody should for real check in tomorrow to see if my ribs turn out because I’m all excited about them.

 

Leave a Reply

