Day 6: A Bunch of Chicken and Me Destroying My Kitchen

Sundays used to be lazy days for laundry and cleaning. Now they’re full of planning, cooking, cleaning up, shopping, cooking cleaning. . .you get the picture. I got dishpan hands. Ain’t nobody got time for that. 

For breakfast, I ate the rest of my salmon and roast parsnips and turnips, along with the fruit and whipped coconut cream from yesterday’s brunch. Then I was in the kitchen preppin’ a bird. For lunch, yetiman and I had a lovely free-range organic chicken from Gunthorp Farms. I roasted it like this, but with coconut oil, and a bunch of fresh herbs I ordered from Michigan in my Green BEAN Delivery box. Poor Hallie Badger had roasted herself some Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion, and butternut squash, and quickly found out she hated sprouts. Her loss was our gain, and lunch was  great!

DSCN5691

Roast Chicken and Veggies

My goal today was to make a bunch of food so I’d have leftovers, and I wanted some chicken because I hadn’t made any in a while. So don’t make fun of me for eating two different chicken dishes today. For dinner, I made some crock pot “butter” chicken, modified from this recipe. Here’s what I did:

4 skinless, boneless chicken thighs and drumsticks
1/2 onion, chopped
1 Tbsp. grated ginger
4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 Tbsp. chili powder
2 Tbsp. curry powder
1 tsp. garam masala
pinch cinnamon
1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes
2 Tbsp. tomato paste
1.5 cups coconut milk
salt and pepper to taste

Throw everything  into the crock pot, cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. 

I made some modified cauliflower “rice” pilaf from Well Fed, with apricots, raisins, and toasted pecans instead of pine nuts. I also didn’t have any onion left so I added some onion powder instead. The chicken and “rice” were a delicious pair.

DSCN5693

“Butter” Chicken and “Rice” Pilaf – There Are Too Many “Quotes” in This Title

After dinner, more dishes, and a bath, I thought I’d try my hand at making a gigantic mess and shooting vinegar and oil into my eyeballs. . . aka making mayo. I went out and bought a shiny new blender and food processor when I decided I was going to go for this Whole 30 thing. Although I had been reading that an immersion blender was the right tool for the job, I thought “oh, I don’t need another freaking gadget in my kitchen, I can just make mayo in this here blender.” Wrong. What I can do with the blender is shoot smelly half-formed mayo on the ceiling (I made mine with apple cider vinegar instead of lemon juice since I was going for optimal mess). In the end, I was patient, even as vinegar was covering my glasses, and I slowly dumped that olive oil into the blender, and came out with something that resembled mayo. I made some tuna salad with it for tomorrow’s breakfast, and I’m actually pretty stoked about it. It’s got cayenne pepper in it, so who knows what kind of hijinks await me in the morning.

I slept like garbage last night, but I’ve had sustained energy throughout the day. I’m starting a five-week asthtanga yoga  seminar tomorrow evening, so I’ve planned a leftover night, but I do have exciting things planned to shove in my face this week. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go change my shirt and re-wash my vinegar hair.

Leave a Reply

