Day 4: A Bunch of Lame Jokes About Beets

Since Reuseit.com decided to send me the rest of my order today, you don’t have to read about me being angry with them. Which is probably best, because I felt good today and don’t really feel like being angry. It’s hard to be angry when you get zippered reusable bags for bulk foods (coconut OMG).

DSCN5679

Avast! Reusable Booty!

So today was a good day. I prepped some eggies for my breakfast last night and threw in a wad o spinach plus various spices. I had red bell pepper, avocado, and black coffee to round it out. For lunch, I busted out my BORSCHT, which had been waiting for me in the freezer since last week, plus some masala chai tea with coconut milk. I basically used this recipe, but with baby back ribs from Seven Sons. Beets, green beans, cabbage, onion, carrot, and rib meat. What’s not to love? Here’s the straight poop about beets: they rule. In soup, on salad, or just thrown in foil in the coals on the grill, I’ll eat them any way they’re served. If you’re not eating beets because you’re not sure what to do with them, find a recipe and try them out. All I am saying is give beets a chance!

DSCN5677

Beets: It’s What’s For Lunch

You will notice an apple pear in the picture. I bought four of them, and they were all rotten. I don’t want to talk about it. I do want to talk about how good I felt going into my workout tonight. Not so much during, because I was doing bar-facing burpees, but I did manage to push jerk 95lbs! I didn’t feel terribly hungry today, so my meals were a little smaller, but I ate all three. I was also super thirsty and probably refilled my water cup (one of those double-walled reusable dealies with the lid and straw) eight times. I also walked to the bathroom a lot; good exercise for my desk chair sittin’ ass.

For dinner, I roasted some turnips and parsnips with ghee and rosemary, and baked a piece of wild Alaska salmon with ghee, dill, and lemon. I’m a bit of a minimalist when it comes to fish, and this fish was delish.

DSCN5682

Salmon and Roast Parsnips and Turnips

I’m looking forward to some heated vinyasa yoga and paleo brunch with my partner in Whole 30 crime, Hallie Badger, in the morning. We got the beet!

Leave a Reply

