DAY 1: My Meat Muffins Bring All the Boys to the Yard

I’ve been eating on the Whole 30 plan for six days, and I feel like all I’ve been doing is cooking and washing dishes lately. In those six days, I’ve also managed to stash away three containers of emergency freezer food for the days that I don’t feel like cooking and washing dishes all day.

DSCN5658

Emergency Freezer Stash, Top to Bottom: Butternut Chili, Borscht, and Spaghetti Sauce

I was previously cooking 2-4 meals per week, and would eat out for lunch pretty often. Now, I spend a couple of hours on Sunday figuring out my food plan for the week and making my grocery lists. Then there’s buying groceries and some food prep. I’m not going to lie, this is time consuming. I’m sure I’ll become more efficient at all of this, but right now it’s still new to me. I am getting better at planning ahead, so last night (New Year’s Eve. . .woo party!) I prepped a big pot of turkey chili with butternut squash and apples, modified from this recipe. Here’s how it goes:

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 lb ground turkey
coconut oil
1/2 onion
2-3 carrots, chopped
1-2 apples, cored and chopped
1 medium-large butternut squash, seeds removed and chopped (leave the skin on!)
2-4 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
1 can (13.5 oz) coconut milk
3/4 cup water
2 tbsp (no sugar added) tomato paste

Melt a little coconut oil in a pan and brown up the ground turkey with the garlic, adding the cumin and oregano, and some salt and pepper. Combine everything in your CrockPot and cook on low for 4-6 hours.

I had the day off, so I made a bunch of food today, starting by getting up at 5 AM to put the butternut chili on (I went back to bed, natch).

For breakfast, I had the rest of the leftover scrambled eggs and turkey sausage from this weekend, along with some avocado, snap peas, bell pepper, and half an apple pear with black coffee. I think I loaded a little too much on my plate, because I ended up giving a sausage patty and a few of my veggies to my partner. At 6ft 6in and 300 lbs, the yeti will eat anything I put in front of him at any time.

DSCN5650

Breakfast

The butternut chili was for lunch, and it was done around noon.

DSCN5653

Turkey Chili with Butternut Squash and Apples

For dinner, I roasted up tomatoes, onion, and garlic to make some paleo tomato bisque, and tried my hand at some meat muffins from Well Fed. They were a lot like this, but with pork, Chinese five spice, coconut aminos, and red onion for an Asian taste. Yetiman was an instant meat muffin fan. Figuring out how to stick to my meal plan for the week without telling him he can’t eat the tasty food I just made is going to be a bit of an issue. But he ate bacon in front of me yesterday so I guess I don’t feel too bad. Anyway, the meat muffins ruled, and they tasted great with the tomato bisque.

DSCN5661

Asian-spiced Meat Muffin

DSCN5660

Paleo Tomato Bisque

I did snack on some toasty coconut this afternoon, and I drank a coconut water with fruit puree. I read that it was okay on the plan, but it was quite sweet, and I think I’ll be avoiding them and just stick with kombucha. Overall, Day 1 went swimmingly, even if it did involve an awful lot of prep, cooking, and washing dishes. I’ve got meat muffins, tomato bisque, and butternut chili in the fridge, and a freezer full of food, so I’m ready to go!

5 thoughts on “DAY 1: My Meat Muffins Bring All the Boys to the Yard

Leave a Reply

