Gettin’ Crazy With a New Year’s Eve Salad

I woke up feeling much better today. I don’t yet have the shoot-up-out-of-bed-like-a-friggin-rocket energy that I’ve read people get from their Whole 30 experience, but I definitely felt good most of the day. A bit of a headache around noon, but it actually passed, which is kind of a big deal for a migraine sufferer. Normally if we get a headache, it just gets worse until we break down and take something, so the passing headache is worth noting. A bit of bloat this afternoon, but nothing major. I had been feeling bloaty a lot before I started eating on the plan, and I’m hoping that’s something that will no longer be part of my life during the 30 and in my post-30 paleo transition.

Today I ate leftover scrambled eggs and turkey sausage, avocado, and bell peppers for breakfast, leftover bison patties and coconut-lime green beans for lunch, and a big honkin’ salad for dinner (I didn’t need to break into my emergency frozen borscht!). I’ve also had about a handful of toasty coconut, a few dried figs, a kombucha, and  half of an apple pear. Holy crud, if you don’t know what apple pears (Asian pears) are, go find one and shove it in your face; they are freakin’ boffo. And what of this toasty coconut? One of my new favorite things! Coconut chips, cinnamon, and salt. Toast them up in a pan and they come out tasting like a crunchy, popcorny treat. I want to eat them forever and ever.

When I started to read paleo blogs, I was always a little surprised by the GIANT salads people were eating. I suppose I know now why they turn out that way. . .because you just keep piling on whatever protein, good fat, and veg you’ve got sitting around to create Salad Mountain. Salad Mountain this evening started with a bed of mixed baby greens and spinach, red bell pepper, carrot, avocado, snap peas, toasted almond slices, hard boiled egg, and delicious home-made pickled asparagus from a friend (thank you, Steve!). My dressing of choice lately has been simple: organic balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. NYE Salad Mountain was delicious, but it made me realize that I probably need to get a light or something if I’m going to keep taking pictures of my food.

DSCN5648

3/4 of NYE Salad Mountain

Happy New Year, people of blogland! I’m holed up in my apartment in my sweats, smelling like LUSH (Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner, FTW!), about to embark on a Tom Hardy-a-thon (what? don’t judge me). Tomorrow my journey officially begins, and I’ve got some good stuff planned since I’ll be home for the day. I’m ready!

Leave a Reply

